Flash Fiction: Pumpkins

I pulled up in front of our house and stepped out of the truck.

My sister stepped out of the front door and stood with her arms crossed.

“How many did you get?”

I brushed the dust off my shirt and pointed towards the truck.

“Eighty seven, to be precise.”

“That’s quite a haul. Even the others did decently. A tally of 231 pumpkins today.”

“That’s good.”

Sister frowned.

“Not good enough. It’s only a few weeks to Halloween.”

“We will step it up.”

“We have to. That’s the only we can take on Jack-o-Lantern, the Pumpkin Peddler. Defeating his armies before they come alive, is our only chance at reducing his prism of power.”

I solemnly nodded at her.

This year would be the year we finally defeat Jack-o-Lantern.


Word Count: 130

Prompts:

FLASH FICTION FOR THE PURPOSEFUL PRACTITIONER- 2018 WEEK #37

FOWC with Fandango – “Prism”

Word of the Day Challenge – “Peddler”

17 comments

  1. Scary and intriguing! Plus great use of the prompts. By the way, I seem to be posting under “Sparks,” which is the blog a friend and I are developing, but it’s not up yet. I think I’ve mentioned it to you before. We’ll have writing prompts (or “sparks”) and offer a forum for folks to post their work and links to their own sites. My own site is Wild Imaginings: a Spiritual Journey at http://www.nancyschoellkopf.com
    Thanks–n

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment