Flash Fiction: Barricade

“Ahoy, Admiral! The last ship is in place.”

I stood looking at the flotilla that had been gathered. These were all pretty vessels. It was almost too sad to see these pieces of beauty go to waste. I turned to my first mate.

“Very good. Give the order for lowering the bridge. Post that, make sure all captains and their crews get back inside the town.”

“Aye, aye sir.”

I looked on as the bridge began lowering, a perfect compliment to the setting sun. Maybe all this would not be enough after all. However, as the admiral and leader of this town, I will do what I can to stop the wave with my barricade.

Even though the sun has set, I will make sure the town survives to see the sun rise. Somehow. Anyhow. My town will survive.


Word Count: 139

Prompt: FFfAW Week 187

2 comments

  1. I think the gulf coast of Florida wishes it could have employed some type of protective measure. There is destruction that may never be corrected. I like the admiral’s way of trying to use what he had to protect the town.

    Like

Leave a comment