FTS Project #2: Believe Me

“Believe me officer, it wasn’t me.”

My pleading fell on deaf ears. My cellmate looked at me with amused eyes. I glared at him and punched the cell wall in frustration. I took deep breaths, composed myself and sat down on the cold stone floor, resting my back in the corner. My cellmate sat down in front of me.

“Come on, boy. You don’t expect anyone to believe your story do you?”

I offered him no reply.

“Frankly, I’ve seen loonies in my time in various jails, complete nut cases. Your story would crack them up as well.”

I sighed.

“I never should have told you.”

He laughed and placed a hand on my head.

“According to your story, you had placed your head on your mother’s lap. You were resting comfortably and you say you drifted off into a deep sleep. When you got up, you were still resting on your mothers lap, but the rest of her was not present. You could see blood everywhere around the house, and pieces of your mother scattered here and there.”

I kept my head down. That scene was etched in my mind. I could not forget it, and it did not let me sleep.

“Boy, you have no evidence. What do you expect the cops to do?”

I looked up with tears in my eyes.

“Believe me…”


Word Count: 226

Prompt:

One day you’re sitting with your head in your mother’s lap and in the next you’re sitting in a holding cell waiting for the trial of her murder. What happened?

by Tanmay Jain

This is the second flash fiction story in the Finish The Story Project (FTS Project)

You can find out more about the project here

Happy reading! 🙂

3 comments

Leave a comment